Sunday Sundown concerts


Join us for our Sunday Sundown series. All concerts are at 6:00pm and have free admission with a retiring collection for the musicians unless otherwise specified. See below for the current schedule, and also At Heath Street Baptist Church - see map and get directions.

Sunday 5 May 2024 from 6:00pm

Gran Finale:

'Concertante' with Mozart and Haydn

Performed by Istante Collective, Hilary Cronin and Phil Wilcox.

  • WA Mozart - 'Bella Fiamma' concert aria for soprano K528
  • WA Mozart - 'Rivolgete a lui lo sguardo' alternative's 'Cosi' Fan Tutte' aria for baritone K584


  • FJ Haydn Sinfonia Concertante for violin, cello, oboe, bassoon HobI:105
  • FJ Haydn - ‘non aver di me sospetto’ duet from La Fedeltà Premiata

Tickets available here.

Homemade Baroquestock focaccia and drinks available in the interval.

Also part of 'Illusions', the Baroquestock Festival 2024.

Sunday 12 May 2024 at 6:00pm

Kunst Quartet


  • Haydn Quartet Op74 No5
  • Debussy Quartet in G minor Op10


  • Violins - Warren Zielinski, Patrick Kiernan
  • Viola - Bruce White
  • Cello - Ian Burdge

Free admission with a collection for the musicians. You can reserve a seat here.

Sunday 19 May 2024 at 6:00pm

The History of Cardenio album launch:

Daniel Cano Trio


  • Daniel Cano - Trumpet
  • Andrea Di Biase - Double Bass
  • Dave Storey - Drums

The History of Cardenio is a suite of symphonic poems written by Daniel Cano retracing musically one of the stories contained in Cervantes' Don Quixote, whose plot was brought to the stage by William Shakespeare.

It’s a poignant point of contact between two giants of Spanish and British culture. A bridge close to Daniel's personal life journey.

The story begins when Don Quixote decides that he will be staying in the mountains of Sierra Morena to do penance for his lady Dulcinea at which point he meets Cardenio, who has lived there since his friend Don Fernando betrayed him. A meeting full of complicity and empathy. Later Dorotea, cross-dressed to go unnoticed, is also found after being deceived by Don Fernando who abandoned his promise of marriage as soon as he saw Luscinda, Cardenio's love.

Cardenio's movement describes his impossible love, his consequent loneliness and madness. Don Fernando glimpses at his reckless betrayal. Luscinda's composition is inspired by her unwavering conviction to resist Don Fernando’s marriage proposal, to the point of killing herself. Dorotea is centred around her character’s complex emotional state after having escaped an attempted rape. The story ends with an apparent reconciliation of the characters; a bitter-sweet triumph of love as expressed by Shakespeare: “What is it else? A madness most discreet, a choking gall and a preserving sweet.”

The album was released in April on Honolulu Records and is available on all digital platforms (

Free admission with a collection for the musicians.


Powered by Church Edit